Posted by: Little Miss | September 7, 2007

How did I get here?

I’m not really sure. Seems like I’ve had some health issues in one way or another for the last eight years.

Without going into a full-on health history, because really, do you care? I’ve been diagnosed at one time or another with a variety of things which now, looking back, clearly show that I’ve probably been developing this Fibromyalgia for some time. I think it was exacerbated by a car accident this last January (2007) where I spun out on some ice and hit another little pickup truck head on, after spinning a couple donuts downhill.  

The catalyst to my final diagnosis was a stupid doctor at Swedish Medical Clinics in Seattle. He was the last one who said to exercise and lose weight. (You’d think I was morbidly obese – far from it – although I could use to lose some weight.)

So, I was pissed. I figured I’d either prove them wrong, or I’d prove them right. I did what he said. I started walking almost two miles a day, eating very healthy, trying to sleep right. I did this steadily for six weeks, at least. I should have started to see a difference, and feel better, and build up my endurance to exercise. Instead I felt worse. I had chest pains, was always fatigued, and the bottoms of my feet hurt. There were probably more symptoms, but you get the picture.

After a stress echocardiogram, vascular ultrasound and subsequent dismissal that there was nothing wrong with me, my physical therapist referred me to a rheumatologist that her mother had seen. We were concerned that maybe I had Lupus. My birth mother had Lupus.

She was awesome. She believed me. After some thorough tests she ruled out Lupus and some other nasty sounding stuff, and diagnosed me with Fibromyalgia – and a severe vitamin D deficiency. My vitamin D level was about 15 points below the minimum range. (The ankle stuff is something else and I have to go to a foot surgeon for it. The edema seems to have subsided for now – likely because I’m resting more and keeping my feet elevated.)

Fibromyalgia. What is that? What does it mean? I’m still figuring that out, still trying to learn how to deal and manage it. Vitamin D? Severe deficiency is characterized by severe muscle pain. Gee, same as Fibro. Double whammy. Add my L2 and L3 disc degeneration and I might as well give up.

But I’m NOT giving up. Ever.

I do know that finally all the pieces of the puzzle fit. Everything that I was diagnosed with previously – the accurate diagnoses – now make sense. Without connecting the dots it just seems like a random bunch of weird health issues – a sleep disorder, back pain, muscle pain – now it all makes sense.

Now I know. Now there is hope.

More later.

Responses

  1. Ohhhhh…those stupid chest pains. I think that hospitals should check for trigger points (once they’ve ruled out a heart attack)– then people wouldn’t make fifteen trips to the ER with chest pains before getting diagnosed with Fibro.


Leave a Reply

Categories

