Posted by: Little Miss | September 7, 2007

What I Did for Me Today

Several months ago I wrote a post “What were you doing just before you put yourself last?”. (From my other blog Little Miss Sew N Sew.) I knew then that I’d had my whole life where I’d put everyone else’s needs before mine.

Things are changing. Slowly, but they are.

Today, I took care of me.

  • I slept in and worked from home this morning because my Fibro kept me in pain and awake until 2 a.m. Forcing myself to get up at 6 and commute was not worth the later flare up I know now I’d experience.
  • I didn’t go to a wedding that I didn’t really want to go to, for various reasons. I was stressing about it all day. Stress and fibro don’t mix.
  • I resigned as co-leader of my neighborhood American Sewing Guild (ASG) group. I’ll still be a member, I just don’t need the stress of having to be there if I don’t want to. Again, stress and fibro.
  • I told my mom I couldn’t go with her to the opening game of the Seahawks football season. (And I LOVE football. I LOVE the Seahawks too.) It would be a loooong day, starting at 10, bus ride to Seattle, walking all over the stadium, stress of the idiot with the season tickets behind her, bus ride home. You know the drill.

Consequently, as a result of doing these things for myself, I feel better. The stress is lowered, and hopefully, I’ll sleep better tonight.

Tomorrow I’m supposed to go to a sewing guild potluck and be there by 10 a.m. I’ll go if I feel up to it. If I don’t, I won’t.

I’m putting me first. It feels good.

Responses

  1. How smart you are! I’ve had to do this kind of winnowing down too (to the point of not even taking phone calls at times)– it took me much longer to figure that piece of the puzzle out.

  2. it has taken me decades to learn that it is ok to say “no.” i have been doing that more in the last few years and it feels good. a few days ago, i was asked to chair a rather significant committee. i said, “i need to think about it.” still don’t know if i will do it…i need time to carefully consider my time commitments.

    being stressed and overbooked is not good for anyone. you are smart to think about the implications of adding things to your agenda. we don’t have to “do it all.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

