Posted by: Little Miss | October 9, 2007

Screw Guilt

One of the questions in Moonbeam McQueen’s fibromyalgia survey was “Do you feel guilty about your Fibro?”. Initially, I answered not really. I do believe that my fibromyalgia was caused by a car accident I was in this last January 2007. There are so many theories about what causes fibro and I feel too many people attribute it to stress only and that it’s all in our heads. However, I found a site that shows some statistics that support the theory that it is caused by a trauma. (http://www.arthritis-treatment-and-relief.com/fibromyalgia-and-car-accidents.html)

So, it’s really not my fault, right?

Well, if you consider that I was the one that drove on a snowy day, even though the roads were clear, and wasn’t looking for ice, and subsequently caused the accident, then it could be my fault. So I kinda feel guilty about that.

And now I feel guilty that I have to have accomodations at work.

I feel guilty that I can’t do my own housecleaning and have to hire a housekeeper to do the heavy stuff.

I feel guilty that I don’t have the stamina or energy to complete so many of the projects I’ve started.

I feel guilty that an hour with my little grandkids going to the park and back wipes me out – not completely, but enough.

I could go on… but where is this getting me? Stressing out about what I can’t do? Like I said, “Screw guilt.” It’s wasted energy and I don’t have enough of it as it is. I need to practice acceptance. I’ll let you know how that goes.

What helps? Realizing that this last accident really was not my fault. I didn’t rearend myself. What also helps is focusing on the positive. What I do have, what I can do, and keeping my dreams alive. I still have goals and things I want to accomplish. They haven’t changed too much, other than probably the route I’ll take to get there.

And one of the positive things I try to focus on? Now it’s time for me. Time for me to think about how to bring fun and joy into my life. I’ll let you know how that goes too.

Responses

  1. Ya know… I’ve been thinking about that question a lot, too. And I’m amazed at just how much guilt I’ve been carrying around now that I’ve actually thought about it. I’ll be working on that, too.

    BTW…. this is Ouiser. Changed blogs again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

