Posted by: Little Miss | October 18, 2007

Ya Gotta Do What Ya Gotta Do

Well, today, all thought of making good choices went out the window. I had a rough day yesterday driving in commuter traffic and rain both to and from work. I’ve learned – even before the fibro – that excessive commuter traffic aggravates my back condition. So I try to limit it – and thankfully, my work allows me to work from home the majority of the time. Plus, since my recent accident, the chiropractor has asked that I limit my drive to work to three times a week, plus I’m restricted from doing heavy cleaning such as mopping, vacuuming, and so forth. (I know, darn. But I do like to have a clean house.)

Yesterday evening I couldn’t make it to the chiropractor, and this last Monday, after physical therapy – well, actually before – I was in acute back pain and flareup and didn’t know it until I got to physical therapy. So today I decided to go in to the chiropractor this morning before I had to drive an hour to a client meeting and back. I was scheduled to go back again tonight and to physical therapy to hopefully see if my back was any better.

Well, I’ve obviously not been listening to the weather forecasts. Maybe I got disgusted with how often they were wrong that I tuned them out. Today they were forecasting our first big storm of the season and boy, they were right. We had high winds and power outages. Typically, I never lose power since the power lines in my neighborhood are buried, but my daughter, who lives twenty minutes away lost power.

So there she was, home with a toddler and pregnant, and hubby was working late, and it was cold and she had no power. What was I to do but go get her? Of course! I willingly threw my own health issues out the door to go get her and my grandson so they could have dinner, stay warm, and hubby could pick them up here after he got off work. It was an hour drive each way (normally only twenty minutes each way), but it all worked out perfectly and by the time they got home, their power was back on.

But oh, my aching back. Over the last couple days, I have pushed myself further and harder than I have in a long time. I know I will pay for it. I’ve driven four hours today – two days worth of commuter traffic, and yesterday makes the quota of three – not to count Monday’s driving. So… tomorrow no driving for me, except for the short drive to the chiropractor.

Sigh. Sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do and this momma lion always puts her cubs and grandcubs first. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Responses

  1. You ARE a good momma lion, but I’m so sorry you’re a momma lion with a thorn in her paw. I think that fibro is definitely weather related, and long periods of sitting still (i.e. commuting) related. The weather’s changing here too, and it definitely takes its toll. Hope you are feeling better soon.

  2. Spending time with my grand daughter, getting my house ready for a visit, cooking and shopping in advance, is a trade off. I’d do anything to spend time with my grand daughter. I know that the week following her visit I will be in bed, screaming body, major migraine, totally spent. Some things are worth the trade off. A visit from my grand daughter tops my list. You have to carefully choose your priorities and be willing at times, to pay the consequences. She was here for Halloween and it was a blast. I’m writing this from my bed, where I have been all day.
    In a couple of weeks, I’ll be ready to see her again. Such is our lives.

    I too forget during the up periods, that my downs are so down. In the warm weather I have glimpses of what life is like in a ‘normal’ body. Fall is a crewel reminder.

    I hope tomorrow is an up day for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

