Posted by: Little Miss | October 30, 2007

Sorta like News

I was in a dentist’s waiting room the other day and saw an issue of U.S. News & World Report sitting on the coffee table. Normally I don’t read these magazines. I get bored with all the politics, fear-monging, and end-of-the-world doomsday forecasts. However, this time I picked up the magazine because a word caught my eye: Fibromyalgia. I exclaimed out loud, “Wow!” (I got some strange looks from the office staff.) I picked up the magazine and quickly flipped to the article, then asked the receptionist to photocopy it for me (just in case I couldn’t find it online.)

Here’s the online article: Gain Against the Pain, So, it’s really not news. Because Moonbeam McQueen already told us about this cool new drug specifically to treat fibromyalgia, Lyrica.

What is cool, though, is that the word fibromyalgia was on the cover. And the related article actually gives validity to what we who suffer from fibro know is real: the pain and fatigue associated to it. The article talks about how research is improving and they know more about it. They stated that for a long time doctors and researchers thought that the problem was in the tissues or nerve endings “at the places where it hurt.” According to U.S. News & World Report, the doctors and researchers are learning that it is a central nervous system issue. This, to me, gives validity to the researchers who claim that fibromyalgia can be triggered by an auto accident or trauma, or other injury to the upper spine and neck. I think this is how I got it.

I specifically like this statement: “In other words, far from being whiners, they are wired to be exquisitely sensitive to pain. It’s not something they’re imagining.”

Duh.

Additionally, Don Goldenberg, chief of rheumatology and director of the Arthritis-Fibromyalgia Center at Newton-Wellesley Hospital in Newton, Mass., suspects a genetic predisposition to developing fibromyalgia and depression. On the topic of depression, however, they stress that it is not the cause of fibromyalgia.

So, what does this mean for me? Nothing much that I didn’t already know or believe to be true as a result of my own research and experiences. However, it validates for me that my car accident last January likely triggered this. This also validates my theory that my daughter (now 26) also has fibromyalgia as a result of a more severe car accident in July of 2006. She had her whole life ahead of her before she was rearended by a car going 40 mph when she was stopped in bumper to bumper traffic. Since then, she’s been in chronic pain, fatigue, depression, and back and neck injury. (And yes, she has an attorney.)

But I almost feel lately a drive to educate some medical providers – like all the ones who told me to just lose weight, watch my salt intake, and exercise. Or the chiropractor – who I dearly love – who thinks it’s mostly a symptom of stress. I’m encouraged, however, with news articles like this. I’m still not ready to try medication, though. I think I’ll wait and see how it works for others and if I can manage my fibro without medication.

Responses

  1. Recently a friend of mine went with his wife to the clinic for a surgery. They had an appointment but the waiting room looked like “all HELL” had broken loose…the receptionist did not
    have a handle on how long patients had been waiting…to make matters worse, once the doctor was
    ready to see my wife for preparation, there was some paperwork that needed to be filled out.

    My friend contacted me since I am a Software Solution Architect and asked if I knew of a technology
    that would aid waiting/reception areas in a rapid, easy manner so that doctors could see how long
    they were making their patients wait and staff could be more pro-active in having paper work
    filled out earlier. In response to my friends demand, I customized a software I developed for BMW
    dealerships now available for doctors, medical centers, clinics, etc…
    The software is called http://www.lobbymanager.com check it out it will help you more than you can imagine!

  2. This was such a great post. Every time you write about your fibro, it teaches me something new, while at the same time bringing up familiar issues.

    I’m still not sure about the Lyrica. I still hurt, but I’m not sure if I hurt as much. A little confusing. And it makes me feel like I’m STARVING, which is a bad thing. If I can’t move enough to burn off the calories I’m already consuming, I sure don’t want to be craving more.

    Even though it seems that whenever someone writes about Fibromyalgia, it’s stuff we already know about, you’re right– it’s still nice to get validation. And I love your idea about some sort of education for medical providers (and for employers).

  3. Thanks, MB. The appetite thing is one of the reasons I don’t want to try a medication. Even though I’m not too terribly worried about my weight, I sure don’t want to make it worse.

    I have it in the back of my mind all the time that there’s a reason I have fibro and can write. Someway, maybe there’s some writing I can do – create a testimonial guide or some educational brochure – and hand it out. Something.

    You hear all the time about how people faced with adversity use it to change the world if even in a small way. I’d like to be able to do something positive with this, not get mired down in “contemplating my navel”, as my mother used to call it, and worrying about the change of every little ache and pain.

  4. Hello there !
    Pls take a look at trustyourself.wordpress.com

    The blog is about personal problems that people have and want to solve them. The blogs topic refers to any kind of problems that u have met in your life, from teenagers to couples, marriage and so on. If u are interested pls make a post and we should solve the problem together .

    Thank you for your time !

  5. I’ve found the validation from doctors seems to be more prevelant these days than it was say, ten years ago but still the things they have suggested to me the most are light exercise (walking or swimming) and always anti-depressants.

    Lyrica is a drug for nerve pain as I understand it (they gave it to me for shingles) and it might help but even with us having insurance, the co-pay was around $100. if I remember correctly – which I’m pretty sure I do. It’s always one prescription after another that and – learn to live with it.

    Thanks doc.

    Thanks for the post and best wishes to you.

    Peace, love and understanding,

    ~ RubyShooZ ~

  6. I use to watch The Golden Girls all the time and remember one episode in which “Dorothy” went to her doctor with complaints of pain and fatigue and was told she was just getting older. She finally decided to get a second opinion and was diagnosed with CFS. The high point of the episode was when she and the girls were out celebrating her diagnosis (i think) and she sees the first doctor, dining with his wife in the restaurant. She waltzed over to his table and really gave him what for! It was one of the most emotional episodes they had. You shared her frustration, her vendication, and the big fat “I told you so” at the end. Of course, she never had another problem with it in subsequent episodes. Gotta love hollywood! The babies are always with the nannies and only brain tumors aren’t fatal.


Leave a Reply

Categories

