Posted by: Little Miss | November 18, 2007

Counting Down

Since we’re still counting down to a new baby being born into the family, I figured I’d do a bit of counting down as to what I’ve accomplished since last Thursday, despite my fibromyalgia.

  • Spent time with my pregnant daughter and helped her get things ready for baby.
  • Drove to and from work and a client’s site probably 100 miles in two days.
  • Drove my daughter to her doctor appointment and to run some errands. Probably another 75 miles of driving.
  • Did six loads of laundry, including folding, and putting away.
  • Cleaned my stairs on my hands and knees.
  • Cleaned the kitchen.
  • Cleaned (mopped) 2/3 of my hardwood floors wich equates to 2/3 of my house since it’s all hardwood.
  • Slipped and fell at my daughter’s – probably bruising my left knee.
  • Got my nails done.
  • Played with my very active grandson
  • Worked hard at work accomplishing some significant stuff with a client
  • Stressed out about my daughter’s contractions over the weekend
  • Changed a kitchen ceiling lightbulb – okay, so that doesn’t sound like much, but if you have fibro, then you know just how hard and painful it is to climb up on the kitchen countertop to change the floodlight.
  • Sorted 100 balls of yard by color and type – well, it seemed like that many.
  • Hemmed four pairs of my daughter’s scrubs

I’m sure I did more things. For most people – hell, even for me a year ago – this list is nothing. It’s the normal things that everyone does. However for me, with fibromyalgia, this is a daunting list. And my body is reminding me that I’m not who I used to be last year.

Tomorrow I have another huge day ahead of me. In a way, I’m resentful because I had planned to take the day off on vacation as it’s the day before my daughter is scheduled to have her last baby. Instead I’m required to attend a three-hour meeting plus drive out to a client’s site, driving another 80-100 miles total, and coming home to finish up the last of the preparations for having my 2 and 6 year old grandchildren come to stay for a couple days while mommy and daddy and new baby are at the hospital. Oh, and let’s not forget about the seven animals that also live with me – four cats and three Chihuahuas.

At least this next week is a holiday week. So there’s some time off there to hopefully get some rest. If my body doesn’t force me to stop before then – which it’s trying to do now.

Am I whining? Well, maybe just a bit. But I push myself through because I know at some point I’ll be able to stop. Even if it’s at the hospital enjoying the little bundle of cheer and delight that will emerge in less than 34 hours (as I write this.) And, I’m not the one who has to undergo surgery, so I’m thankful for that, and I’m deeply grateful that I get to be present for all of this.

That’s more than many people get.

Responses

  1. Oh my gosh– you’ve worn me out. I have to go lie down now!

  2. Hope you got a good nap, MBMQ. LOL. And it got worse all through yesterday with everything I did. I’m having to forfeit a vacation day today to get some work done, visit a client an hour away, and watch kids and visit my daughter. Thank God for my younger daughter who is helping immensely, but she’s likely got Fibro as well, so suffers like I do.

  3. Ha, ha… I just did a little whine fest of my own, listing what little I’ve done, on my blog. Figured I would get it out of my system before Thanksgiving and all, he, he. Isn’t it sad that before getting sick, we would have probably not even noticed doing this stuff?

    By the way, you could take this list and use it for another post titled: “WHAT NOT TO DO IF YOU HAVE FM” He, he. Of course, I’d find a post about “PEOPLE WILLING TO DO IT ALL FOR YOU” most helpful, too. HE HE HE


Leave a Reply

Categories

