Posted by: Little Miss | November 25, 2007

Either Overshare or Interesting – You Decide

Moonbeam McQueen quietly tagged me so I could offer up some interesting – or maybe not so interesting – things about myself with a little meme. I’m always game if someone wants to know something. Here are the rules.

“Have to come up with seven ‘facts’ about self and post these rules:

1) Link to the person that tagged you, and post the rules on your blog.
2) Share 7 facts about yourself.
3) Tag 7 random people at the end of your post, and include links to their blogs.
4) Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

Then I have to tag 7 innocent bloggers. That’s the part that I have the most trouble with.”

I’ll do like she did and just link to people at the bottom of my post and if they want to participate, great. If not, that’s their choice. I believe memes are like email. You can respond if you want, forward if you want, or simply delete it.

So. Seven things that I haven’t said here or on my other-mostly-sewing blog?

  1. I like football. I’m watching it now. My hometown team is the Seattle Seahawks, and I know enough about football to enjoy the game, but there’s also much I don’t know.
  2. I don’t like city life. As a preteen, I had to follow my parents through the streets of London. They walked in front of me, I walked alone behind them. I was terrified. I don’t like crowds, and I don’t like driving in the city. I love suburbia and country and beaches. My dream house would be on the ocean or lakefront. The house I have now, while not close to water, is pretty darn perfect with being smack in the middle of suburbia but next to a greenbelt so it’s like I’m in the country.
  3. When I was a child, I used to draw floorplans for houses I someday wanted to build. If I hadn’t become a writer, I probably would have been some sort of artist or interior decorator or fashion designer. In fact, when I became pregnant at 18 with my first child, I went back to Paris where my parents were living. (I didn’t know I was pregnant at the time, however.) I later found out that my parents were willing to put me through art school in Paris – even with a child and unwed. Why, oh why, did I never hear that until it was much too late?
  4. I detest holidays. All of them. It’s not the family gathering stuff, joyful faces of kids, or the lights and trees, and homey feeling of the season –  it’s all the marketing hype and media and the pressure to spend money I don’t have on crap no one wants or needs. Since I give to my loved ones all year long in one way or another, I feel pressured – and subsequently depressed – when I can’t live up to the expectations society places on us to buy, buy, buy. My father was the same way. He wanted us to go to Hawaii one year and skip Christmas. I like that idea now. Hated it then. Of course, I was only nine then. This year, I’m not buying anything for anyone except for my little grandkids. Everyone else gets good wishes, or something handmade with yarn.
  5. I don’t eat breakfast. Or rarely. In fact, I’d be happy never eating. Not that I’m anorexic or anything like that. I just find it gets in the way of things I’d rather be doing. And I don’t like cooking, don’t know how to cook really, and don’t care to learn. I don’t like fancy food, just plain meat and potatoes and simple stuff. I could live off of Marie Calenders frozen entrees. Because there’s portion control, I’d probably lose weight. But I don’t struggle with my weight. I’m quite content just the way I am.
  6. I never wanted to raise my kids alone. I always dreamed of having a wonderful husband but that never happened. Sometimes I feel I shortchanged my girls because they didn’t have a respectable father, but they did have an awesome grandfather. After my first husband, I think I became terrified of men and of being rejected and hurt, but mostly being criticized as the men I’ve dated were always very critical.  I still am scared of trying even though a companion is something I really want and know would add joy to my life. Sometimes I’m afraid it’s too late now, even though I’m still in my 40s.
  7. I’d like to travel to other parts of the United States. I’d like to see the Carolinas, Florida, Texas, and New England. I have no desire to go to New York. See #2 above.  I sometimes think of packing everything up and moving somewhere warm, but I’d never, ever move that far away from my family. Likely, if my son-in-law was ever transferred across the country, I might just follow them so I could be close to my daughter and grandkids.

I’ll tag the following:

My friend April.

My daughter.

Life With Buck – if she hasn’t already been tagged.

That’s it. I have no others I want to tag. Moonbeam tagged some I’d like to hear from, and all my sewing buddies have already done this. How about this – if you want to do your own meme go ahead, let me know in my comments that you did, and I’ll be happy to come to your blog and read it.

Responses

  1. This was so fascinating! You’re such a great writer, and the things you shared make my list look like a slice of bologna in comparison to your filet mignon. You are very lucky to have had such a rich childhood (despite the hardships), and I still have faith that someone as wonderful as you is going to find a great guy. And if for some reason you don’t, you’ve built a pretty amazing life to go solo through.

  2. MBMQ: Thank you so much. When you compliment me about my writing, I feel very honored because I absolutely love your style of writing. It’s enticing, intriguiing, humorous, and fascinating. I do hope I find someone – someone as patient and loving as your Tom – but if I don’t, I know I’ll be okay.

    I used to take my childhood for granted until I sat next to someone while scrapbooking about my years in England and she, in sincere awe, said how fortunate my childhood was. I have such deep gratitude for it now and for the rare opportunities that my father gave me and I am fully aware I have been blessed. I just wish my opportunities weren’t so rare and that more could have experienced what I did.

  3. hi! I like football, too! and on #3? How come the parents didn’t say ‘hey, we’ll put you through art school?’ or were they waiting for you to express the wish? as for #6, I wish I could say it’s never too late, right? especially when you sound so at ease and happy with yourself. 🙂 “C”

  4. Shoot, I just saw this post and that you tagged me. I’m honored! And mad at myself that I didn’t see it earlier, I wasn’t trying to be rude. I did do the 7 facts earlier, but otherwise I’d definitely do it.

    I loved your facts and I’m so glad you shared these things about yourself. We have a lot of in common. Not the well-traveled childhood, but other things like the designing floor patterns as a kid. I did this also, and I definitely would have been an artist if I hadn’t become a writer. And your having a child early and while you were single? I did this also, at 19. I was so unprepared, she was the first baby I ever held! Your thoughts on city life — me too, though I’ve gotten much better about it.

    It was so cool to learn these things about you. And again, my apologies for not seeing it sooner. Next time we do a meme like this, we gotta be more organized!

  5. LWB: No worries, I figured you’d already been tagged. I was also 19 when I had my first child too, or did I already say that? When my girls turned 19 is when I finally realized just how young I was when I had Cindy. I had two before the age of 21.

    CuriousC: I see that I didn’t respond to you either! Sorry for that. Art school would have been great, but I think I didn’t know what I wanted at the time. I do know I wanted my baby – I was so delighted to get both of them. And it’s never too late to go back to art school, if I wanted, right?

  6. Well, if my house wasn’t already bursting at the seams, I’d give you an invite to come visit NC. Maybe one day… but at this rate… the new grandbaby of yours will be a college grad!


Leave a Reply

Categories

