Posted by: Little Miss | December 14, 2007

Looking for the open door

“When one door closes, another opens.” Or so the saying goes. Where’s that danged open door? I think I see it, but I’m not sure.

Let me explain now that the shock has worn off. I just finished this huge project for a client of my employer’s and this morning went in to the office to finish up some loose ends. I’d been there 45 minutes and my boss asked me if I had a “few minutes”. Fine. I follow him to the opposite side of the building while a strong sense of foreboding wells up inside me. I knew there was trouble when my boss’ boss and the HR manager came in with papers in hand.

Cut to the chase: I got laid off. Not just me, but three others on my team as well. They “converted me to an hourly employee”, so they say, which means I get paid for the work I do – if there is work. But they say there’s not enough billable work to keep me on salary, so unemployment here I come. (I’ve already filed – no dust piling up on this keyboard.) Frankly, they didn’t even really try to find more writing clients. Whatever.

After a brief period of shock and wanting to cry, I believe I know what I want to do. I know my value and, to quote my colleague, I’m “one of the best editors in the region”. So, I think I’m going to join the ranks of full-time freelancing and raise my own salary, set my own schedule, and view this as a blessing in disguise.

Right now, I’m having to pull on my faith and belief that everything that happens in my life happens for a reason. Just like my father taught me: The worst things that happen to me turn out to be the best things that happen to me.

I will survive, and probably do even better than I was just last week.

Responses

  1. great, big cyber hug….

    ugh…right before the holidays. they could not have waited a week or two? anyway. you have an amazing attitude about this. i do think you are right. this could be a blessing in disguise. dh works in software development where layoffs are as common and the sunrise. in many, many cases it *is* a good thing….after the initial shock wears off. it forces the person to really think about what they want from their career, perhaps take a chance on going in a new direction.
    with your health issues, freelancing might be a good thing. you won’t have the pressure of a boss over your head, or the issues of “keep up appearances” at the office. if you having a bad day, you can stay in your jammies…no one will know. you will set your own deadlines. one thing i like about subbing is the ability to control (somewhat) my own schedule.
    i wish you all the best. you are talented and hardworking. i have no doubt that you will succeed.

  2. I’m sending you big hugs too. I feel so indignant for you! Isn’t it odd that we were just talking about this?

    Anything that I say is going to probably be something that you and I have already discussed– work, stress, fibro, the tragedies that end up being blessings in disguise, etc. are recurring themes.

    You’re an amazing, smart woman, and you are going to succeed beyond your wildest dreams. Cheers to you for moving forward on this so quickly. I can’t wait to hear of your progress. Their loss is definitely your gain.

  3. Thank you Mermaid, and MB. It’s kinda funny that I don’t have to get up and go to work Monday. I was laid off in 1996 for the first time and I bounced back so quickly from that – I don’t know where that comes from at all. It’s weird. I’m glad for it though. I talked to my mother and she said she never worries about me when I get laid off off or change jobs – the next one is always better. And although I wanted to cry (and did a little – like five seconds, literally) I’m okay. I wish I knew where I get this from and could bottle it up for people. I’ve seen so many people absolutely devastated by job losses.

  4. Checking on you, and making sure you’re okay. I hope that the silence means that you’re thoroughly enjoying being with your family, and getting ready for a great Christmas. You are definitely in my thoughts!

  5. For heaven’s sake spend a little bit of this new found time trying to “bottle it up for people” and put me on the list for your first shipment, ha, ha. And even though it will probably turn out to be a good thing for you, I still think it sucks that they couldn’t wait until AFTER the holidays, but then folks that got laid off in Jan of this year said, “I wish they would have told me before I went in debt over the holidays,” so at least there’s that, I guess (me making a pitiful attempt at being optimistic about something).

  6. MB and TammyRenee: I’m doing well. Fibro is flaring some, but I’m working through it. Enjoying the time with the little ones and actually enjoying getting some sleep. Imagine that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

