Posted by: Little Miss | December 29, 2007

Attitude Adjusters

It’s the little things, if you pay attention, that can change your attitude.

Today, my oldest daughter, her boys, and I spent some lovely time together. It was nice to be spontaneous and drop everything and go visit her. I’d been feeling like I had a cold, but I think it was just a case of allergies, so when she wanted someone to go shopping with her and the boys, I was game.

We buckled up and went first to a consignment store and bought her a nice little swing for the baby. We had a nice time touring around the local town – think, Smalltown, America. There was a post office, a police station-fire station combo, a library, and a church. Oh, and the consignment store. Really, there was a bit more, but not much. This town borders a lake, and it really was quite nice.

swing.jpg

Then we had to stop and feed the baby, so while mama did that in the van, I wandered quickly through Value Village (a thrift store) and found a couple nice finds. Then off we went to Wal-Mart.

Since my daughter is also on a limited budget – who isn’t these days? – and this particular Wal-Mart has food, we did some grocery shopping there. Prices were great, and baby slept through the whole thing. Cayden was great and our shopping time was about an hour or so. I pushed Evan and the groceries in one cart, and mama and Cayden led the way with another cart. I played peek-a-boo with Cayden by peeking around the bonnet of Evan’s carseat. Cayden loves it when his Danma plays with him like that.

Finally we were ready to check out. Every line was long, and of course, I picked the slowest one. And was it ever slow. Slower than molasses. I swear the checker had lead in her arms and could hardly lift a box of Fruit Loops. My attitude had slowly been going from having fun with my grandson and daughter to being painfully aware that my feet hurt in my boots on the concrete floor, and irritated that the checker was so slow.

Finally, thirty minutes later (I kid you not) standing in line, we get up to our turn at the register. Then the register’s computer froze up.

However, while we were waiting for the register to get fixed – another several long, irritating minutes – my daughter was chatting with the lady behind her who was also there with her grandson. Her grandson was saying things like “Grandma, will you buy me this?” and my daughter told the lady, “Oh, my son already does that to my mom,” and pointed to me. (The lady looked to me to be about 55 and her grandson somewhere around 9.)

All of a sudden, I’m startled out of my trance of disdain towards the checker, the manager, and Wal-Mart, and hyperfocusing on my painful feet and my back that is starting to hurt, when the other grandmother comes up to me. She places her warm hand on mine, smiles, and pleasantly says, “It’s so GREAT to see another YOUNG grandmother! I thought you were her sister,” gesturing towards my daughter.

I beamed. And in that instant, my attitude changed.

Attitude adjusters come in many forms, mostly unexpected ones. But you have to be open to hearing them.

Responses

  1. i agree with the lady in the line…you are one of the youngest looking grannies i have ever seen.
    me….i’m going to be an old granny. started later with the babies. my boys are still in middle school. let’s hope it is a quite a long while before i become a granny. tho, a part of me can’t wait. 🙂
    teri

  2. Aw, thank you, Teri. Yes, hopefully your boys will be well into their twenties – or later – before having any children. 🙂 But being a grandma sure is great.


Leave a Reply

Categories

