Posted by: Little Miss | January 5, 2008

So far, so good

Five days into the new year, and I feel optimistic. Even though I was laid off (due to lack of work) ten days before Christmas, things are looking up. Starting Monday, I should be back editing for a previous client. That work will take me through January at my previous income. Phew.

As soon as I hung up from the phone call with my previous employer, I received another phone call from a recruiter. Now I have an interview for another technical writing contract job on Monday. This, if it works out, could be a pretty good deal. It wouldn’t start until the first one is almost done, and it will pay quite well. It’s only for about nine months, so that will allow me time to build up my freelance work while still having some income security.

Then, as if that wasn’t good enough, I hopped online early this morning and an old colleague started chatting with me on instant messenger. She was the director of marketing at a company we both worked for a few years ago. She, too, is starting her freelance marketing and public relations business and is very interested in subcontracting out some editing and writing work. Luckily, I could quickly point her to a website where I’d just written several pages of marketing content.

Wow.

I know this will be a good year. I was panicked and stressed out about three days ago, fearing that I’d freeze up, not sell myself in time, or that the money would just stop coming in. But I prayed hard, talked to myself about it, and took what steps I could to make the situation better. Then I let go. There’s a phrase in the prayer of St. Francis of Assissi that I always remember. It’s about paradoxes, and to me life is one great big paradox: “It is in letting go that we receive, it is in pardoning that we are pardoned, and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.” It’s the first part of that statement that really resonates with me. Every time I let go of something, I get more than I could ever have anticipated. I even think Alanis Morrisette has lyrics in one of her songs that say the same thing.

To top this all off, I’ve had a burst of energy. I don’t know where it’s coming from, but it feels almost like the old days before I got fibromyalgia. I’ve done quite a bit today with taking down the Christmas tree, sweeping floors, rearranging the couches, bringing in files from the garage and sorting through paperwork, and even sorting a little bit of stuff out in the garage. It feels REALLY GOOD.

Overall, I know the changes that have happened to me lately will be the best thing for me in the long run. I told myself that, and when I started to doubt it, my friends here on this blog and my family have reminded me of that. Thank you so much.

I’ll keep you posted. Hopefully, there will be no fibro flare to report! How incredibly awesome would that be?

Responses

  1. Woohoo! Talk about famine and feast 🙂 Good luck for the interview. I do tech writing too – although probably more IT-based than you, by the sound of it?

  2. Naomi: Actually, most of my writing has been highly technical: software guides, user guides, operations manuals, installation guides, and such. It’s recently that I’ve really gotten into the marketing side full-swing.

  3. Well there ya go, the dangers of assumption-making.. 🙂 The marketing side sounds interesting, a bit more creative… I wouldn’t mind getting into it more.

  4. so happy to hear the job situation is looking better. hmmm….do ya think there is a correlation between lack of stress and lack of fibro symptoms? 🙂 at any rate, glad to hear all things are looking up for you.

    when things are at a low for me, i try to remember that life is a series of highs & lows. things do get better…..and when things are good, i try to enjoy them because i know it won’t last forever.

  5. Congratulations!!! Mermaid is right, IMO, ebb and flow, ebb and flow.

    Take care and as always….listen to your body so you don’t have a FM flare.

    Best of luck!

  6. You are all right, everything is temporary. In fact I was going to write about that, but I don’t have to now. LOL.

    Mermaid: yes, there is a definite direct correlation between stress and fibro symptoms. The more I eliminate stress, take care of myself, and be selective about which activities I join, the better I feel.


Leave a Reply

Categories

