Posted by: Little Miss | January 29, 2008

Aches and Pains

I’ve been taking Gabapentin now for a week after my doctor prescribed it for my restless leg syndrome (RLS), which goes along with my Fibromyalgia. This doctor is a general practitioner, not a rheumatologist, as the rheumatologist I went to won’t treat Fibro, preferring to stick with more typical diseases like arthritis, lupus, and so on. There aren’t really any doctors in my area that specialize in fibromyalgia. There was one, but he has moved into research of fibro only, not treatment, which is good, really, because the disease needs more research. I mean it, too. I’d like to see even more awareness and acceptance of this horrible whatever you want to call it – disease, syndrome, whatever.

Anyway, how’s it working? Hard to tell. I am probably sleeping a little bit better, but not much. I’ve not experienced any RLS since taking it, but it’s only been about 10 days, if that. I do know that I’ve been in a fibro flare-up for the last several days. I think the flare-up is unrelated to the drug. I think it’s because of the change in weather – much colder the past few days with snow – and just tiredness and having done too much a few days ago. I still don’t get to sleep more than about six hours a night, if that. Then, once I’m up, I’m up. I have to work, so I need to stay up. Although I’m grateful I can work from home, so the stress and trauma of a daily commute is eliminated. Every once in a while, I’ll allow myself a nap, but I really wish I had the ability to let myself sleep. Yesterday, I was exhausted so at about 5 p.m., I told my daughter I was going to go take a nap. I slept an hour and for some reason, I made myself get up.

I’m not sure anyone really cares to know all this, but I’m hopeful that the Gabapentin will help with the pain. If it does, I’m so happy.

Oh, and on another related note, the doctor retested my vitamin D level, and my level has doubled in the months I’ve been taking the vitamin D supplement. This is really good news. This means that my vitamin D is up close to where it should be, and that any muscle aches and pains are truly fibro, not a combination. I’ve eliminated one cause of the muscle aches. YAY.

Responses

  1. I wasn’t able to take the Gabapentin – it made me sleepy the next day, which I can not tolerate. Glad the Vitamin D supplements helped – were you taking a special type or just what comes with a good multi-vitamin supplement? I have had a good result with magnesium supplements, malic acid, it has helped the bruised feeling on my arms and legs.

  2. @Tammy: At first, it made me feel weird the next day, sort of hungover. But a nurse friend suggested taking it earlier in the evening, not just right before bed. For the vitamin D, I took straight vitamin D by Nature Made – 1,000 i.u. a day.

  3. […] post by Little Miss delivered by Medtrials and […]

  4. I agree with Neurontin you have to take it at about 6 pm or you ARE hungover.

    I take a prescription Vitamin D (Drisdol) and will return to Magnesium with Alic acid (from endfatigue.com) after my levels come back up.

    Isn’t it amazing how we all have the same type issues (low Vitamin D, RLS, etc) and yet it’s “all in our heads”.

  5. @ FFIA: I totally agree with you. It’s not in our heads. I can see how from their perspective they may think that. It’s the case of “My dear, but you LOOK fine.” Uh, but I’m not fine. 😉

  6. I have just been diagnosed with CFS/Chronic Epstein Barr and Fibromyalgia. I also have started taking prescriptiion Vitamin D and have been taking it for 3 months but it seems like it doesn’t want to come up to normal- has this happened to any of you? Also my doctor doesn’t know what to do with me anymore, he has decided to send me to an infectious disease expert in another state for the epstein barr….does this sound reasonable or is he just trying to do “something” because he doesn’t know what to do for CFS/Fibro?

  7. @Carrie: I’m really not familiar with Epstein Barr. I do know that it was six months between my testing of vitamin D before it doubled. It also depends on what your doctor is defining as normal. Each doctor may have a different definition. What kind of doctor are you going to? Are you going to a rheumatologist? The only thing I can think of is read up and do research on the EPV. I didn’t read that it was infectious – only the related Mono is. But then, I am NOT a doctor, so I don’t know. I’ve also encountered a physical therapist who thought chronic fatigue and fibro were the same thing. They are not. They have similar symptoms but CFS has a primary symtom of fatigue, whereas fibro is primarily pain. Hope this helps.

  8. Carrie I have a good friend who has EBV. She comments on my blog as “shades of pink”.

    If you would like I could give her your contact info. You would need to come to my blog http://www.werlivingfree.wordpress.com and click on “contact me” and I will get the message to her. Sound ok?

  9. I’ve just gotten caught up on all your posts and I’m glad to hear your new year has gotten off to a good start. How bout an update on the new medication? I’ve never heard of that one before.

  10. I’ve just gotten caught up on all your posts and I’m glad to hear your new year has gotten off to a good start. How bout an update on the new medication? I’ve never heard of that one before.

  11. When your joints feel sore and achy, that’s usually a sign of osteoarthritis. This inflammatory condition becomes more common as you get older. The cartilage that normally cushions the joints wears away, leaving the joints inflamed and painful.*

    Our new website
    <,http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/root-canal-recovery/


Leave a Reply

Categories

